The logger component lets you define the level of logging activities in Home Assistant.

To enable the logger in your installation, add the following to your configuration.yaml file:

To have a full log and log everything only this entry is needed (without any qualifier):


To log all messages and ignore events lower than critical for specified components.

# Example configuration.yaml entry
  default: info
    homeassistant.components.device_tracker: critical
    homeassistant.components.camera: critical

To ignore all messages lower than critical and log event for specified components.

# Example configuration.yaml entry
  default: critical
    homeassistant.components: info
    homeassistant.components.rfxtrx: debug
    homeassistant.components.device_tracker: critical
    homeassistant.components.camera: critical

Possible log severities are:

  • critical
  • fatal
  • error
  • warning
  • warn
  • info
  • debug
  • notset

Service set_level

You can alter log level for one or several components using the service logger.set_level. It accepts the same format as logs in the configuration.

An example call might look like this:

service: logger.set_level
  homeassistant.components: warning
  homeassistant.components.media_player.yamaha: debug

The log information are stored in the configuration directory as home-assistant.log and you can read it with the command-line tool cat or follow it dynamically with tail -f. If you are a Hassbian user you can use the example below:

$ tail -f /home/homeassistant/.homeassistant/home-assistant.log